Sir John Talbot’s Awards Evening 2014

Sir John Talbot’s annual Awards Evening took place on Friday 12th September. This was a highly successful event attended by parents, students, local dignitaries and invited guests. Congratulations to our award winners and many thanks to all those involved in making this an outstanding advert for the achievements of students at the school.  Special thanks to award sponsors and to Belton Cheese for their generous contribution.

The evening began with a welcome from Mr David O’Toole, Headteacher and a roundup was given on the achievements of the last year by Head Boy and Girl, Sam Boardman and Lauren Bond.

The Special Awards were presented to students by Mr Bob Pearson, Chair of Governors.

John Sutch Award for the Arts – Robert Molyneux

 John Sutch was an old boy of the school who had a short and successful career as a sculptor before his life was tragically cut short through illness. Pieces of his work are displayed in The White House, USA and St Alkmund’s Church.

Hubert Smith Award for English Literature – Rhys Francis

Hubert Smith was Chair of Foundation Trustees and Governor for many years. He was the Managing Director of Smith’s (Whitchurch), a local foundry and steel erection business.

Joseph William Parbutt Memorial Trust: Award for Modern Languages,

Engineering, Architecture or Survey – Ashley Thelwell

An Endowment was set up by Miss Kathleen Parbutt, for many years a music teacher at the Secondary Modern School, in memory of her brother who was killed in WW2.  The award reflects his interests.

McDougall Award : Award for Food Studies – Chelsie Maddocks

Mrs Catherine Coles (nee McDougall) was the Home Economics teacher between 1965 and 1990.  The prize is awarded for achievement of high standard of work and dedication to a project involving Food Studies.


Foundation Trust Community Award – Rebecca Stokes

ICT and Technology Award – Tom Woolley

Rotary Award for Student Literacy Mentors  –  Georgia Downward, Dale Gabales, Damian Snell

Foundation Trust Award for Philosophy and Ethics  – Owen Pugh, Penny Cartwright

Ernest and Lily Parbutt Memorial Trust: Award for Art, English and History – Emily Smith

 A second endowment from Miss Parbutt in memory of her mother and father.  The award reflects their interests.

Alan Youatt Award for Science – James Metcalfe

 Alan Youatt was Headteacher of the Grammar School from 1946 to 1972 and the award trust fund was set up in his name by his children who grew up in Mossfields (now the Sixth Form Centre).

Young Award for Mathematics   – Sam Boardman

Marilyn Young was a teacher of Mathematics in the Secondary Modern School and Sir John Talbot’s Technology College until she retired in 2005.

The William Cambridge Award for Work Experience – Fern Hignett

 Bill Cambridge was primarily a Latin teacher in the Whitchurch Grammar School, however, he taught various subjects.  In his latter years at Sir John Talbot’s he concentrated on Careers.  He pioneered the use of Work Experience as a means of broadening students’ horizons.

Adrian Richards Shield for Dedication in Sport – Joel Leese

Kinsey Award for Sporting Achievement in Year 11 –  Adam Jenkins

Kinsey Award for Sporting Endeavour in Year 11  –  Bethan Evans

Town Council Music Award – Lorna Watson

Parents’ Association Blake Mere House Award – Nathan Outterside

Parents’ Association Brown Moss House Award – Bronwyn Poole

Parents’ Association Oss Mere House Award – Cameron Marsh

Parents’ Association Red Brook House Award – Lewis Wilson

Key Stage 3 Award – Charlotte Partington

Key Stage 4 Award – Brett Twist

VIth Form Award – Sam Cutler

Posted by sjtadmin on 3rd October 2014, under Uncategorized

Previous Post:
Next Post: